2009 Epic Book Survey

Thanks to YA Highway for giving me a subject for my second blog post 😉  I’m going to give my answers, but also give reasons for some. I read 26 books this year, but five were beta reads, three were graphic novels, and two were rereads.

 BOOKS

  • Most imaginative: Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman
    • Surprise, not a fantasy.  I think this was the most imaginative because the author had to get inside the head of her son with cerebral palsy and make up this whole world of what went on in there.
  • Scariest: Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    • Technically this should be The Forest of Hands and Teeth because it’s my only horror, but HG was the one that had me reading, holding my breath the whole time
  • Edgiest contemporary: Break by Hannah Moskowitz
    • I’m sure this would’ve won even if it wasn’t my only edgy contemporary book 😉
  • Creepiest SF/dystopia: The Forest of Hands and Teeth
    • There, it was definitely creepy, not scary
  • Best love story: The Animals Were Gone (beta) by Hannah Moskowitz
    • I adore love stories, so why didn’t I read that many this year?  I’m sure this won’t be out for a few years, but it was definitely the best romance (in the plot sense, not genre sense) I’ve read this year.

SCENES

  • Scariest:  I was on the edge of my seat (well, elliptical, because I was reading it there) for The Forest of Hands and Teeth when the love interest was crossing the rope.
  • Most disturbing: You’d think it’d be the bone-breaking in Break, but no, it’s the surrealness of Jonah’s time in the mental hospital.
  • Most exciting: The entire build-up to the Games in the Hunger Games.  Both in the Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, I loved the parade and pre-game interviews.
  • Biggest tear-jerker:  Hmmm.   I have to give props to several
    •  In Break, during the last chapter, the repeat of the first line “the first feeling is…” and for some reason, I just started crying. 
    • In The Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo, I was crying pretty good while the characters were
    • I want to give this to Hunger Games for the flowers and the singing, and Catching Fire for the District 11 reaction, but I’m not sure I actually cried…
  • Best plot twist/revelation (no spoilers!!) :  It is really hard to do a twist I can’t guess.  The only one that I wasn’t reading the whole book expecting it was from the last scene in The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, and even then, I guessed it at some point of the novel, I just didn’t go the whole book expecting it.  This was also possibly the best because it was the most beautiful and made me very happy
    • Technically the biggest plot twist/revelation that I guessed early on (*cough*first chapter*cough*) was The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

CHARACTERS

  • Best couple: Aislinn and Seth, actually, from Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  • Who you’d want as your best friend: Katniss from Hunger Games
  • Who you fell in love with: Gale from Hunger Games (though Peeta also made a good run)
  • Worst (best?) villain: The government in Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (for all the book’s other problems)
  • Best character twist (who you loved, then hated, or vice versa): Keenan and Donia (even though I never really hated them) from Wicked Lovely
  • Best character names:  Aislinn from Wicked Lovely
  • Worst character names: Peeta from Hunger Games/Catching Fire
  • Favorite all-around kickass female: Katniss from Hunger Games/Catching Fire
  • Favorite all-around kickass male: Harry Dresden from Summer Knight by Jim Butcher

MISCELLANEOUS

  • Best book cover: I didn’t finish it, but Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr.  I basically read Wicked Lovely because of Ink Exchange’s cover.  Second is The Forest of Hands and Teeth
  • Best title: Smiles to Go by Jerry Spinelli
    • I can’t give it to Break because I love its original title better
    • I thought that The Pain Merchants was a more evocative title for Janice Hardy’s book The Shifter, but that The Shifter fit the story better
    • Worst title, IMO, is The Forest of Hands and Teeth.  I had weird visuals from it and that made me not want to read it
  • Most memorable voice: The Shifter, followed closely by Break
    • The Shifter wins because of how it added to the world building
  • Most memorable first line: Break
    •  Easily
  • Best setting: The Shifter
    • Have I mentioned the world building in this novel?
  • Most beautiful writing: This is hard…  I want to give it to The Underneath, but with the caveat that there was a lot of repetition within sentences, which got a little annoying in some places.

LAST BUT NOT LEAST…

  • Will any of the books you’ve read in 2009 make your life list of Favorite Books?  Hunger Games. <3<3<3
  •  
    • Also I reread Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, both of which were already there.

My Own:

THE NEGATIVES

  • Most predictable book: The Lost Symbol
  • Tone down the techno-speak: Little Brother
  • Three books that needed to move forward sometimes instead of telling us more of the same:
    • The Lost Symbol
    • The Underneath
    • Smiles to Go
  • Couldn’t get into the characters: Ink Exchange (I didn’t finish)
  • Worst abuser of fake suspense: The Lost Symbol

THE POSITIVES

  • Four beta reads I hope get published:
    • The Animals Were Gone
    • Mystic Taxi by Karen Duvall
    • Sacrifice by Amanda Morgan
    • A Tangled Web by Elissa Hoole
  • Most anticipated release: Break
  • Best world-building: The Shifter
  • Book I was most surprised I liked that much: The Shifter
  • Author I read this year who I’m most looking forward to reading another book by (who I don’t personally know): Suzanne Collins
4 thoughts on “2009 Epic Book Survey

  1. To be honest, the things I read at the beginning of the year, probably got a little robbed in this survey. Though Wicked Lovely got on there a few times, and it was definitely a pre-March read

  2. It is sad how few of these I’ve read (Have I read any?). It is time to catch up on my reading now that I’m on vacay. To the library on Monday I go!

Leave a Reply

