Hello, my name is…

…Trouble.  Oh, wait, no.  That’s one of my characters.  Let’s start again.

I’m Sage Collins.  I write novels, mostly YA contemporary fantasy, but not always.  In fact, I just wrote one that is maybe, hopefully literary MG, but I’m waiting on betas to tell me if that’s true.  That novel’s called Fireflies, which inspired the title of this blog, “Like Fireflies in the Brain.”  Interestingly (well, I think so), the novel’s title was inspired by the song “Fireflies” by Owl City, which captures the feel of the book and the main character pretty well.

One thing about me is that I adore music.  I’m pretty eclectic, and I’ll listen to pretty much any genre except country or rap (and even then there are a few songs I like).  When I need inspiration for my novels, I just listen to music.  For each novel, I create a soundtrack, and that’s one of my favorite parts of writing it, to be honest.  Quite a few novels and WIPs of mine were inspired by songs, though I’ve found inspiration elsewhere, such as from dreams and other fiction, and even a misread license plate.

I have two novels that are currently being looked at by agents, so I hope to have news on that front soon.  I know several writers who do Teaser Tuesdays on their blogs, and I’m going to join them.  Other than that, I plan to keep this blog up-to-date with at least one other post each week, hopefully more.  Start poking me in the comments if I fail.  It’s a New Year’s resolution.  I’m going to try to keep with writing posts, but, you know how it is, sometimes other bits of life are more interesting.  Also I’ll probably be taking my exercise goals and word count goals and posting them here.  Because it inspires me to work harder to post them for the world to see.

Anyway, I’m excited to start, and here I am on New Year’s Day with my very first post.

Lots of love,

Sage

7 thoughts on “Hello, my name is…

  1. I LOVE your blog title. And welcome to the blogosphere!

    “I’m pretty eclectic, and I’ll listen to pretty much any genre except country or rap (and even then there are a few songs I like).”

    Same here. I really can’t stand country music. It’s so sad and bleh. And rap music really just isn’t my thing either, except for a few songs.

    It’s cool you’re starting a blog right on New Year’s Day, so I have a feeling this blog will be made up of all sorts of awesomeness. ^_^

Leave a Reply

