Sage, Seer, or Something else (My Weird Calm)

You might not know this, but I’m a little bit psychic.  No, not really, but among some of my writing friends, we made a joke that I was upgraded from Sage to Seer.  There are times when I just have a really good feeling about the day and then get a bunch of requests.  Or the time I said on our website, two days before Christmas, something about the next person to get an agent and added, “<looks at Elissa>,” and two posts later Elissa was posting about how a certain agent (who is now representing her) e-mailed her to tell her how much she loved the book and wanted to read another one of hers to see if it was more commercial.   Just to be clear, Elissa was not the only person querying or with requests, I just had a good feeling that she would be next.

Of course, sometimes I let my excitement get ahold of me.  Sometimes I’m really getting impatient, and so I just announce, “Today someone has to offer.”  Of course that doesn’t happen.  Also there are times, like two weeks ago when an agent sounded so excited about my novel that I was convinced she was going to read it overnight.  I convinced myself that I was getting an agent the next day.  I was sure I was getting one.  I knew it.  Obviously, that didn’t happen.  In fact, that was a pretty bad day (have I mentioned how I set off the house alarm on my Roomie and how our gutter fell off our house, taking part of the wall with it?  Yeah, that was the same day).  But it wasn’t a real prediction.  It was just excitement.

This Friday, however, I was driving to work, and I just felt this sense of calm and this warmth in my stomach.  And even after I decided that it meant good news for me, I didn’t let nerves or excitement get the best of me.  I just felt that glow in my stomach and calm.

Well, I got three requests that day.

And that’s pretty exciting.  But ever since then, I’ve kept this calm.  I haven’t felt the glow, but I’ve just settled down after two weeks of being stressed and overreacting to every e-mail and being convinced that it’s going to happen soon.  Inbox (1) still excites me, but it doesn’t cause me heart attacks like it had been before.

And, lol, I had planned for this next post to be about confirmation e-mails, and my appreciation of them, but how they were giving me heart attacks, but then the heart attacks stopped, so I told you about that instead.

So anyway, hopefully the calm continues…and my next good news prediction brings me an agent.

Lots of love,

Sage

10 thoughts on “Sage, Seer, or Something else (My Weird Calm)

  1. Congrats on the requests! For the few few requests I got, I thought I was going to have a stroke or die or something. The ones after that, I got jittery and happy, but not as insane as before.

    I am predicting you will land an agent also 😉

  2. Congrats, Sage! Three requests in one day is AMAZING. You’re on fire–my fingers are crossed that you’ll hear wonderful news soon!

Leave a Reply

