Writer Survey

I got this survey from http://addktd2books.blogspot.com/2010/02/writers-survey.html.  I’m not sure where it originated, but I loved the questions.  Yay.

 1. What’s the last thing you wrote? What’s the first thing you wrote that you still have?
The last thing I wrote was my literary MG, Fireflies, which is about a girl who searches for a ghost in an inn so that she can avoid dealing with her brother’s TBI.   I absolutely adore it.

The first thing I wrote that I still have is a fanfiction based off a role-playing game my friends and I played in college.  The summer in between the two years we played, my friend and I e-mailed back and forth about what should happen in the next year, and while bored at work in a retail job, I made up an entire story based around our ideas.  When I got back to school, I wrote it in two weeks (it was novella length) and shared it with my friends, who loved it.

2. Write poetry? I wrote a poem in high school that ended up in the high-school newspaper thanks to my freshman English teacher.  Also a poem in first grade that ended up in a big booklet of children’s poems.  But no.

3. Angsty poetry? No.

4. Favorite genre of writing? YA, especially contemporary fantasy.  Though I really like my MG, I’ve only written one.

5. Most annoying character you’ve ever created? Depends on who you ask.  If you’re asking the characters, Trouble.  He is the spirit of trouble, after all.

6. Best plot you’ve ever created? It’s so hard to choose.  Haven’t you heard?  I’m the “great concept” girl.  Concept-wise, I think I have to go with Love Sucks.  It’s about a girl who drains love with her touch, and then falls in love.

7. Coolest plot twist you’ve ever created? That would be telling 😉  But it’s in AFTRLYF.  It’s not whodunit, it’s why he did it.

8. How often do you get writer’s block? All the time.  Sometimes I just overload on writing (like going from one project to NaNoWriMo and instantly into a new project that I finished in 19 days) and need a break.  Sometimes nothing flows.  Sometimes I just personally think I suck.  Sometimes I don’t know how to proceed

9. Write fan fiction? Not anymore

10. Do you type or write by hand? I mostly type, but I write by hand when it’s more convenient to do so.

11. Do you save everything you write? Sort of.  Small or necessary revisions don’t always get their own version, but big revisions do, especially if I’m iffy on them (for example, changing the ages in DownLoad, cutting a crush in Love Sucks)

12. Do you ever go back to an idea after you abandon it? All the time.  AFTRLYF, HEVN SNT, and DownLoad were all abandoned ideas.  Just this week, I was thinking about taking up a project I abandoned last year.  For AFTRLYF, I wrote about 2000 words and decided I couldn’t write.  I abandoned it until NaNo when I was telling a friend about the possible novels I could write, and as I was telling her, I started thinking, “You know what?  This sounds kinda cool.”  And when I finished, she said, “Do that one.  It’s awesome.”  For DownLoad, I felt it wasn’t something I could do, so when NaNo rolled around again, I took it up as a challenge (worst case scenario, I waste a month trying).  HEVN SNT was just writerly doubts that I got over after a song inspired me.

13. What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever written? HEVN SNT, which is the sequel to AFTRLYF.

14. What’s everyone else’s favorite story you’ve ever written? Depends on what group of people you ask.  My family = AFTRLYF.  One group of writer friends = Love Sucks.  Another group of writers = Trouble is a Friend of Mine.  Probably LS, since so many people have read it.

15. Ever written romance or angsty teen drama? I write romantic situations in teen novels that occasionally contain angst.

16. What’s your favorite setting for your characters? Hmm, I don’t know.   Probably the San Diego bed and breakfast for Fireflies

17. How many writing projects are you working on right now? I’m probably going to revise Fireflies for some agents.  I have several things I’ve been thinking of doing, including starting back on Boy/Girl, rebooting Echoes of Silence, writing an MG about my cat, and finally tackling Hero/Villain.

18. Have you ever won an award for your writing? I got second place in two AW contests.  Do they count?

19. What are your five favorite words? “Chica/chico” is definitely one. “Firefly” is one.  This might sound stuck up, but “Sage” is one.  For all its meanings.  That’s only three, but whatever.  I’m sure I’ll think of some more later

20. What character have you created that is most like yourself? This is so hard because most have some elements of me.  Tia has my stubbornness.  Bex has my propensity to get in trouble even when I’m trying to be good, and also the imaginary friend thing ;).  Mailee is probably most like me.  Socially, she’s a lot like me in high school.  Beyond her immediate group of friends, she doesn’t really feel like anyone likes her, and even for them, she’s always wondering if they’re really her friends.  She stutters and is shy vocally most of the time, but her mental voice is full of attitude and more expressive.

21. Where do you get your ideas for your characters? All over the place.  Songs, dreams, talking to other authors.  Once I made up one based off a license plate (I misread it too)

22. Do you ever write based on your dreams? Once.  DownLoad was based off a dream.  By the time I wrote it, only one scene was sort of similar to the dream, but the general idea was there.

23. Do you favor happy endings? Not really.  I love an ending that fits the novel.  Sometimes a heartbreaking ending can stay with me forever.  Sometimes I need a happy ending.  I love bittersweet endings, where something is lost and something is achieved.
24. Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write? Yes.  I can’t help it.  By the time I think, “I shouldn’t go back and fix that now,” my fingers have already hit the backspace.

25. Does music help you write? Yes.  Sometimes music helps me create the scene or even the novel.  If I don’t have music on, my mind’s more likely to wander to other things, but if it wanders to music, I’ll be back soon.  One time, I was listening to an instrumental song while I was writing, and it was perfect for the scene.  I was in tears by the end.

26. Quote something you’ve written. Whatever pops in your head.  It was something Justin, of all people, had once said to me.  “How much love would a love sucker suck if a love sucker fell in love?” 

Lots of love,
Sage

2 thoughts on “Writer Survey

  1. Ah, I love the quote, and it’s great to find out more about you, at least on the writing side. I love the idea of Love Sucks, and I always liked your title “Trouble is a Friend of Mine” cause it makes the book sound so interesting. If you ever want another beta, send me a PM. 🙂

    Adktd2bks (Angie)

Leave a Reply

