Where Did My Exclamation Points Go?

For everyone worried about me, my toe is fine, as far as I know.  I’m more worried about the cut than the fracture.  It doesn’t really hurt unless I do something stupid like jam it on the stairs or against the shower wall.  You know, be me. 😉

In other news, I wrote last night, yay.  I entered the NPR three-minute fiction contest.  Chances of winning are incredibly small, but it was good to break past some writer’s block.  Of course, five minutes after I sent it, I had a better story idea, lol.

Okay, but here’s the point of this post.  Maybe you’ve noticed that I’ve been avoiding exclamation points, even when posting exciting things.  It’s possible I’ve missed one in an excerpt here or there, but I have been looking for them before posting.  I’ve been avoiding exclamation points since mid-November.

Why would I do this?

Well, it starts with Twitter and my querying Trouble.  An awesome agent, Holly Root, tweeted that she had given up exclamation points and that things had gotten exciting since she had.  So I decided to give up exclamation points until such time that I deemed I had good enough news to use them.  Obviously, I was hoping that good news would be agent-related.  Which still has yet to happen.

But where did they go?  All those months of exclamationless writing.  Where did the exclamation points go?

I’m pretty sure they went into Suzanne Young’s book, The Naughty List.  Possibly all in the first chapter, lol.  For every fake swear word the MC gives us, she punctuates it with a exclamation.  And she’s a cheerleader and has some dramatic friends so, as you can imagine, things get yelled, shouted, cheered, screamed, and, well, exclaimed all the time in there.

But for me?  No exclamation points yet.  You’ll know when it’s time.

Lots of love,

Sage

5 thoughts on “Where Did My Exclamation Points Go?

  1. I’m with Rachele on this:) I try to avoid them when I’m working on my book, I allow myself one exclamation point per chapter but when I’m writing on my blog- I use them like one in every two sentences (!) 🙂
    But I’m rooting for you, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

