Writing Vacation Stats

Well, it’s time to bite the bullet and resign myself to the fact that the writing vacation is more or less over.  Sure, I haven’t quite gotten home yet, but I’m in the city limits, and I can only stay at this Cosi’ so long avoiding going home.  I probably would have stayed in my little vacation town longer except that everything is closed on Sunday.

So here are my stats as of right now (obviously I might go home and write some more, making Sunday stats different).

  • Thursday evening: 2120
  • Friday: 6000
  • Saturday: 6396
  • Sunday: 3615
  • Total: 18,131

So, wow, 18,131 words in four days. Considering that my last writing vacation had 18K words, and that was a whole week, I really rocked this vacation.

Want to know a secret?  I gave up on Taylor-Made.  I’ll probably go back someday, but I wrote those words on Thursday, and it was like pulling teeth.  Sure, I probably wrote them about as fast as the words I wrote on Friday, Saturday, or today, but they felt like they weren’t flowing.  And I had no idea what was going to happen next.

I sort of feel like I don’t know what’s happening next with Hero/Villain, which is what I started writing Friday morning, but when all else fails, I send my superhero after a villain (and just today sent my supervillain after one too).  And plot-wise, H/V is way more developed than TM, simply because I’ve been sitting on it since October. 

So I’ve been writing H/V and it’s been lots of fun.  I adore my supervillain (who is the other MC) and my superheroine is pretty cool too.  I will share on Tuesday, I promise.

Of Hero/Villain, I’ve written 16,011 words this weekend, which isn’t too shabby either.  If I’d had a full week, it would have been nice, and I’d probably have gotten through the swampy middle, but as it is, I have a nice headstart, and don’t see me running out of plot anytime soon (but then again, I haven’t really had time to think about that, lol).

Currently on iPod: Clarity by John Mayer.

Lots of  love,

Sage

4 thoughts on “Writing Vacation Stats

  1. Wow, 18k is impressive! I tried to get 10k done this weekend, but got sidelined by a nap and the sunny outdoors calling me outside for walks.

  2. Wow congrats on the word count! Do you write that much in one sitting each day, or do you take a break every so often?

Leave a Reply

