Tueser Teaseday

Oh, you know what I mean.

So I only wrote a scene and a half of Hero/Villain this week because I spent my time editing other projects and betaing for someone else.  So instead, I’m going to post the shiny new scene I wrote in AFTRLYF, which was a good call because it made me look at it and realize I wrote it in the WRONG TENSE.  Oops.  Well, hopefully that one mistake doesn’t land me a rejection from the person who has the full novel right now….  It’s in chapter 9, so hopefully the 8 chapters before will prove that the novel’s pretty polished.

I fixed it, but if you see any problems, let me know.  I mean, it.  The ego-boosting stage with this novel happened back in 2007, lol.

Context: Tia’s an angel of death.  One touch from her kills humans.  There’s a serial killer taking out angels, including her brother Sam’s girlfriend, who they just found.  Penny’s human and doesn’t know Tia’s an angel.

No sooner was Sam out of my sight than I was off to Del Rio High School.  I could have called or texted Penny, but seeing that she was safe would make me feel better.  The killer hadn’t taken out any humans–at least as far as I knew–but I was still anxious to make sure my one friend was safe.

I walked into the high school like I belonged there, which I looked like I did.  High school was something I’d never get to experience.  The Academy was totally different.  We spent 200 years there and only matured up to middle school in that time.  From what I knew about humans, middle school wasn’t fun for anyone.  And it wasn’t really that fun for us, even when I was top of the class.

Let’s see.  I had only been here once, and I could sort of remember where Penny’s locker was.  The nice thing about San Diego high schools was that there were no halls, and the lockers were set up between the buildings.  I took a right at the gym, went past the first set of lockers, then leaned against building E, waiting for Penny to show up and trade books.  The bell rang and students trickled, then gushed into the halls.  I hoped I could see her in the crowd.  I wasn’t sure which exact locker was hers.

A guy walked by and checked me out.  I couldn’t help but smile.  Something told me I’d like high school just fine if I wouldn’t kill any boy that dared to kiss me.

But I caught a glimpse of Penny and remembered why I was here.

I ran up to her.  “Hey.”

She almost dropped her books, but shoved them into her locker instead.  “Tia, what are you doing here?”

I shrugged, nonchalantly.  “Playing hooky.”  This was poor planning on my part.  What was I supposed to do?  Say, “Hey, there’s a crazy angel killing people.  Be safe, please”?  Somehow I didn’t think that would go over well.

“Just thought I’d come visit,” I finished lamely.  “Oh, and tell you that I can’t hang out tonight.”

She frowned at me.  “But I told Ray we’d go to Maestro’s and keep him company.”

“I’m sooooo sorry.  I really thought that I’d be free, but I have to be with Sam tonight.”

“Sam’s thirteen.  He can take care of himself.”

“Not tonight, he can’t,” I whispered.  “Just… let me off the hook tonight?  Please?”

Something in my voice must have hinted at how upset I was because she nodded.  “Okay.  But you owe me, all right?  Want me to play hooky with you?”

I shook my head.  “No, I have to get back before my teachers notice I’m gone.  I just wanted to check in with you.”

She didn’t have time to question that before I was running off to find somewhere to teleport back to Celestia and wait for Sam.

Currently on iPod: Daydreamer by Adele

Lots of love,
Sage

16 thoughts on “Tueser Teaseday

  1. Loved this. I am curious as to how she has a brother who isn’t an angel, or is Sam an angel? And are they supposed to have girlfriends?

  2. Great tease! I can really empathize with the main character. I’m wondering how she can have a human friend without ever touching her?

  3. For some reason, I feel like Penny is in danger and it’s even worse because she doesn’t know it. I loved all Tia’s internal thoughts on high school.

  4. Great dialogue, Sage! I love the concept–how she kills humans with one touch–and her very teen-esque thought about how she might like h.s. better if that weren’t the case, lol! 😀

Leave a Reply

