Road Trip Wednesday – Best Book of May

YA Highway asks today “What’s the best book you’ve read this month?”  I’m assuming “this month” means May, and, wow, that’s a tough choice.  I read a bunch of great books in May.

I think if I had to say best, as in the one that kept me most entertained and made me run out (okay, to my iPod) and buy the audiobook of another book by that author, it would be Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine.  This is one I’ll definitely be rereading.  I couldn’t help but compare it to the Disney movie that’s (loosely) based on it.  I enjoy both in different ways, but the book felt much richer.  It’s been a while since I read a non-contemporary fantasy novel, mostly because most of them make me roll my eyes at cliches.  This was refreshing and cliche-free.  Just like Ella refused to conform to her curse or to what her peers and father want, the book refused to conform to fantasy standards (despite having elves and ogres and giants and being based on Cinderella, lol).

I can see why people who have read the book were disappointed in the high-school-Disneyness of the movie, but having seen the movie first, I think I’m going to enjoy both of them as separate entities with a similar concept. My only complaint about the book, though, was that in the movie, Ella’s solution was kinda clever, and in the book, it all came down to love (which I’m usually cool with, I just like the clever movie solution).

But when I finished the book, I totally wanted to read it again, which doesn’t happen that often for me, so I have to give the book two thumbs up.

Currently on iPod: Good Enough by Darren Hayes

Lots of love,

Sage

9 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday – Best Book of May

  1. yessss this is one of my favorite books ever. I first read it in sixth grade or so, and I still have my copy (it’s a little ragged now). I’m going to want to reread it before the end of July, too. The movie pales in comparison, though as a separate entity it certainly is cute.

  2. I haven’t seen the movie or read the book. So, I think I’ll check out the book first. It sounds really cute – and I bet my library has it 🙂

Leave a Reply

