100 Book Challenge, Part 1

There is a challenge in the YA section of Absolute Write Water Cooler to read 100 books.  When I was a teen and pre-teen, this would not have been much of a challenge at all, but until the end of last year, I wasn’t reading that much or fast at all.  I mean, unless a new Harry Potter had just come out.  Then I read it overnight 😉

So I took on the challenge.  I said that it might be unrealistic, that maybe I’d only make 50, but I would try for 100.

Well, it’s June 6, and therefore, not even halfway through the year.  I finish my 50th book last night.

I did pretty well in January, keeping up with one book every 3.65 days pretty well.  Of course, I was told that books I started in December and finished in 2010 counted, so that helped a bit.  February and March started to drag me down, though.  In March, I boosted my book count with some manga, research before working on Taylor-Made (remember when I was working on that?).  I had read 2/3 of a series that had similar themes, so I wanted to make sure my story was different.  The challenge specifically said that graphic novels counted while individual comics did not, so I counted all 6 books in that series.  Starting audiobooks at work helped too.  At first I wasn’t going to count them.  They weren’t actually reading, after all.  But then I realized that it wasn’t like I wasn’t getting the story.  The only reason not to count them would be if I was trying to prove I could physically read.  Like a child listening to their parents read a story versus reading it themselves.  By the time you’re an adult, I guess the only difference is the time you use to expose yourself to the story.

And the time makes a big difference.  Spending 7 hours of my workday multitasking while I listen to a story versus spending 8 hours working, several hours driving, eating, writing, working out, etc., and 7 hours on top of that reading the same book (assuming the same time is spent by me reading as by someone else reading aloud), the more efficient choice is clear.

After clearing on AW that audiobooks were okay to count, I started flying through my book count (although different tasks at work have slowed down the audiobook listening), and this last month, I’ve spent more and more time reading on my own time.  It’s almost like I’ve regressed back into my reading habits when I was younger.  “Let me walk around the house with a book (or Kindle) in hand to finish this chapter, at least.”

Anyway, I’m pretty happy to be halfway to my goal.  Here are my first 50 books of the year:

1. Micah on Mumbly Peak – “Kitty Pryde” (beta)
2. The Wanderer – Sharon Creech
3. Grizzly Kid – “karo.ambrose” (beta)
4. Nobody’s Princess – Esther Friesner
5. Holes – Louis Sachar
6. Zombie is an Inflammatory Word (and I Resent That) – “Mandy” (beta)
7. The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan
8. The Westing Game – Ellen Raskin
9. Love is the Higher Law – David Levithan
10. Walk Two Moons – Sharon Creech
11. Eyes Like Stars – Lisa Mantchev
12. The Naughty List – Suzanne Young
13. The Tale of Despereaux – Kate DiCamillo
14. Ash – Malinda Lo
15. Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 1 – Yuu Watase
16. Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 2 – Yuu Watase
17. Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 3 – Yuu Watase
18. Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 4 – Yuu Watase
19. Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 5 – Yuu Watase
20. Absolute Boyfriend, Vol. 6 – Yuu Watase
21. A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett
22. Three-Act Tragedy – Agatha Christie
23. And Then There Were None (Ten Little Indians) – Agatha Christie
24. Incarceron – Catherine Fisher
25. They Do It With Mirrors – Agatha Christie
26. Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher
27. Will Grayson, Will Grayson – David Levithan and John Green (audiobook)
28. The ABC Murders – Agatha Christie
29. The Magician’s Nephew – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
30. Kingdom Jumper – “kyva” (beta)
31. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
32. Evil Under the Sun – Agatha Christie
33. The Horse and his Boy – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
34. Gaba Kawa – Rie Takada
35. Prince Caspian – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
36. The Luxe – Anna Godbersen (audiobook)
37. The Voyage of the Dawn Treador – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
38. Ella Enchanted – Gail Carson Levine
39. Death on the Nile – Agatha Christie
40. Fairest – Gail Carson Levine (audiobook)
41. The Silver Chair – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
42. Sphinx Princess – Esther Friesner
43. Appointment with Death – Agatha Christie
44. The Last Battle – C.S. Lewis (audiobook)
45. Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead
46. If I Stay – Gayle Forman
47. The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June – Robin Benway
48. Before I Die – Jenny Downham
49. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling
50. The Big Over Easy – Jasper Fforde

You can see how many Agatha Christie’s got thrown in there in the second half.  For scale, the first 20 were read in the first 3 months and the next 30 were in the next 2 months (I know because I was reading the first Agatha Christie’s while I was on my writing vacation, which was the beginning of April).

Well, I have almost 7 months to do the next 50.  Hopefully, I keep up the pace.

Currently on iPod: Grim, Grinning Ghosts from Disney’s Haunted Mansion (the ride)

Lots of love,

Sage

7 thoughts on “100 Book Challenge, Part 1

  1. I need to try audio books; I like to take long walks, and sometimes get bored of just music.

    Which book of the 50 was your favorite?

    • That’s so hard because so many books were good, and there are things like the Agatha Christies and classics on there. Harry Potter, of course, is always a winner with me (and that’s why I’m rereading them), but I think I have to go with the same answer as the best book of May, which was Ella Enchanted. I was just so pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed that book.

  2. You rock, Sage! I haven’t gotten into the audiobooks–I think I’d just get too distracted to pay attention to them properly, haha.

Leave a Reply

