Teaser Tuesday – Cullen-esque

Yeah, so I was bad this week and didn’t post anything between teasers.  Booo, Sage.  But I did get a lot of writing done on the weekend.  Here’s a scene I wrote this week.  Evie’s in trouble for being out the night before, but she’s also figured out that her room was broken in to and is worried about her friend Danny.

Mom is taking forever.  I lie back on my bed, staring at the ceiling.  It’s times like these that I wonder why I don’t tell her about the superhero thing.  Then I remember the danger it would put her in.  Yeah.  Still… it’d make it easier to be all, “Danger, Will Robinson,” and be allowed to deal with it.

My ceiling fan is hypnotic and it’s easier to think about nothing instead of thinking about where Danny might be or what’s taking my mom so long.  Will she call Danny’s mom?  Good luck with that.  How about the police?  But tell them what? “I don’t even believe my own daughter, but she thinks her friend is in trouble because someone broke in and stole stuff and walked right out magically.  Invisibly”?

Whoa, invisibly.  What if he was invisible?   I grab my list of heroes and villains and search for the name I know goes with invisibility.  Black Cat.  “Not much is known about him.”   Well, that’s not particularly useful, Evie.

What would Black Cat want with Apollo Easton’s ring?  The possibilities I considered before went through my head again.  Would Black Cat know about anything special the ring might hold?  I suppose he might if he had been invisible and nearby at some point when Dr. Easton was talking about it–maybe to Apollo?–or hiding something in it.  And if he was near me when I transformed from Chameleon to Evie or vice versa, or even just saw me transform from, say, a bird to Evie, he’d be able to put two and two together.  Everyone knew the Chameleon caught those goons that it’s pretty safe to assume Black Cat hired.  That’s his MO.  That much we know about him.

Ugh, an invisible guy has been waiting for his chance to break into my room?  Creeeeeepy.  I imagine him stalking the house all invisible.  Shit, what if he’s been hanging out in the tree, watching through my window, all Edward Cullen-esque.  I shiver and glance at my window.

Something hits it just as my eyes flicker to it.  It takes every ounce of control not to scream.

Hope you enjoyed.  Let’s see how many views I get from people searching for “Edward Cullen” 😉

Currently on iPod: Have a Little Faith in Me by Jewel

Lots of love,

Sage

16 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday – Cullen-esque

  1. Haha @ cullen. Loving it.

    Also, ashamed to admit, I have no idea about the Will Robinson (have been wondering at it, as Melina Marchetta references it in The Piper’s Son.)

    great tease

    xx

  2. BAHAHAHA I love how this takes the whole idea of Edward and turns it on its head. FANTASTIC!

    And also, this sounds like a great premise. 🙂

  3. Shit, what if he’s been hanging out in the tree, watching through my window, all Edward Cullen-esque. I shiver and glance at my window.

    Hee! Terrific.

    The fact that there are people who don’t get the Lost in Space reference makes me sad. I used to watch the reruns on the scifi channel every day after school as a kid!

  4. LOL I love the Cullen reference! =D Awesome teaser. I really want to know more about Evie and Black Cat, whoever they are.

  5. Glad to know that I’m not the only one that thinks Edward was stalker-ish. But having an invisible enemy is a great way to show another side of dealing with a secret identity: where is the line between reasonable worries about being revealed, and out-of-control paranoia?

Leave a Reply

