Goals and stuff

So today I passed 50K on Hero/Villain.  If this was a NaNo novel, I would have won (okay, okay, so two and a half months late).  These last two days were my days off, and I’m really really working to get through the novel by my deadline.

Here’s what I need to get done before I leave for SCBWI on the 29th:

  • The first draft of Hero/Villain finished, printed out, and ready to be edited.  There’s a lot of work to be done on this one, but I’m prepared for that.  (It’s not like The-Novel-That-Shall-Not-Be-Named, which I knew needed a lot of work because it was a PoS, and didn’t care enough to work on.  I love H/V and will polish this baby until it shines.)
  • Based on recent agent suggestions, I will print out AFTRLYF and revise it on the flight to LA.
  • I might print out and work on Fireflies too, but it’s less likely to get done during the conference.  I really should set a deadline for this one, though.  It’s going to be a lot of work, YAifying it, but I’m up to the challenge.  This will probably actually happen as soon as H/V is ready for betas.
  • Finish reading Harry Potter & the Half-blood Prince before the trip because that book is heavy and I don’t want to lug it around on the plane.  I could carry three other books around and have my backpack weigh less.
  • Finish the soundtrack (I might be done now, I just want to let it simmer to make sure)
  • Finish my costume for the poolside gala/costume party

But the important one is H/V.

I think I’ll make it.  I’m into the climax now.  But the good news (if you like teasers) is that I know I have a non-spoilery teaser ready for Tuesday this week.  I didn’t think it was possible, but, yeah, Ace is having pre-climax issues unrelated to the spoilery bits.  Yay.

Currently on my iPod: High Flying, Adored, sung by Madonna and Antonio Banderas (from Evita)

Lots of love,

Sage

4 thoughts on “Goals and stuff

  1. Great song! Good luck getting all your stuff done and hopefully I’ll get a chance to see you when you’re in CA.

  2. Oh I love that song from Evita!
    Good luck with all your goals, sounds like you’re going to be pretty busy. And I do the same thing with heavy books, try and finish them until my eyes start to burn so I won’t have to carry them 🙂

Leave a Reply

