NaNo Is On It’s Way

Hey, everyone.  I’ve been ignoring the blog, but I’ll try to be better about it.

NaNo is coming up.  For those who don’t know what NaNo is, it’s short for NaNoWriMo, which is short for National Novel Writing Month.  The basic concept of NaNo is that you spend the month of November writing a 50K+ word novel.  That’s 50,000 words in 30 days.

The website for it can be found at www.nanowrimo.org.   I’ve done NaNo 5 times so far, and won it every time.  Each time I do it, I try something new.

2005: Euniq – this was a sequel to Echoes of Silence, except that it was MG, not YA (EoS was YA).  Just like EoS, it was back before I knew how to write and avoid cliches, and it is pretty cliched.  New element: Pantsing.  I had no plot before I started the novel.  I only decided the day before that I was going to do it at all.  When I started, I only knew that the MC was going to fall out of a tree and what the four main characters would be like, but nothing about where the story was going.  Of course, by day 6 I had it all plotted out, but still.

2006: AFTRLYF – Yeah, that thing I’m waiting on fulls I wrote way back in 2006.  It was an adult book then.  I still love it.  I hit 50K on day 21 and finished the rough draft on Thanksgiving.  New element: First person and adult book.  First person worked so well for me that I write most of my stuff in 1st now.

2007: DownLoad – I still love this book, though I hated it at the time.  But at the end, there were enough things I loved about it that I worked to edit it, went through betas, edited some more, and queried.  But unfortunately I only got a couple of requests from it.  New element: Sci-fi

2008: Truth or Dale – I hated this book when I was writing it, and I’m not very fond of it today.  There are a few scenes I like, but otherwise, it sucks, and my betas agreed, so I trunked it for life.  New element: Present tense.

2009: Dance Me a Match – Okay, this wasn’t as bad as Truth or Dale, but I knew it wasn’t really working when I was writing it.  I tried to add some edgy elements, but I blew them.  I really chose this over H/V because a) it had a NaNo-friendly format, b) I wouldn’t write it outside of NaNo, and c) it had a new element and H/V didn’t.  One good thing that came from DMaM is that Fireflies came directly from it. New element: Contemporary… until I added a ghost, but even that was an iffy fantasy element.

So here we are, 2010.  NaNo starts in just over 2 weeks.  Am I ready?  Well, I don’t know about ready, but I have a novel picked out (which is more than I can say about October of last year).  More about that in a future post, though.

Currently on new iPod: Dragostea din tei by Dan Balan and Lucas Prata

Lots of love,

Sage

One thought on “NaNo Is On It’s Way

  1. They sound like great stories, and to have completed Nano each time you tried it? That’s awesome. I won’t be doing Nano this year (although that part makes it sound like I’ve participated before, which I haven’t), but that’s only because I’m too busy focusing on my current WIP. I’m excited to see who is doing what and how far they get into it, though, because everyone’s been talking about.

    Good luck with this year too!

Leave a Reply

