Goodbye, Borders

Both the Borders in town are closed as of 5 p.m. today.  I’m pretty sad about it.  Not only was Borders my favorite bookstore, it was also my favorite cafe to write in.  My friend and I used to write every Friday night at the Borders that closed yesterday.  I also had several friends working at that one, but luckily, they’d all moved on to other jobs long before it closed.

But the other Borders?  That was my absolute favorite place to write.  Sitting at a cafe table felt like home.  It wasn’t the healthiest place for me–I didn’t like the coffee, but I did love the javanilla shakes–but when I convinced myself I deserved a treat, the shakes were a great one.

The cafe was the first thing to close.  I thought, “I better go as much as possible  the next two months before they close.”  And I got there, and it was roped off.  I almost cried.

But that didn’t keep me from going back to that Borders over and over to monitor the sales and the inventory.  I bought about 20 books at 50-70% off, but it wasn’t until yesterday that I really made a killing.

Yesterday the first one closed.  This is the one where my friends used to work.  The YA section had been pretty well depleted, so I only got 13 books.  “Only?” you say.

Well, yeah, “only.”  The YA section at my favorite Borders was still pretty well stocked.  Today I bought 60 books.

And so, to paraphrase Cordelia Chase, my loss is your incredible gain.  I’m having a series of BOOK GIVEAWAYS.  Not just one book, but 5-9 books per giveaway, all sort of organized by theme.  There will be at least 7 contests and they will be super easy.  I’m not even going to make you blog about them (but if you want to tweet them, I might hand out bonus points).  Here’s a hint: Start thinking about your favorite songs.

The first one will start tomorrow.  I’m pretty excited.

Even though, I’m still pretty sad, no lie.

Lots of love,

Sage

6 thoughts on “Goodbye, Borders

  1. Holy cow!! 60 books! That’s amazing. The closest one to us was about 10 miles away and in a bad neighborhood so I only went there once and got a few books at 50% off. Looking forward to the contests!!

  2. Hey I know that friend. Everything he wrote had some kind of gun in it by page 2. I am sad too. We had some good, if not productive, nights in that cafe’.

  3. I was at my Border’s Tuesday // Friday. Tuesday the books were mostly 70% off and on Friday everything was 80% off. Border’s was my favorite place to hang/write. 😦 I did get amazing deals though.

  4. i had the same plan, when Borders first announced the closings. i was going to spend every night i could in the cafe – and my store closed the cafe first too. such a bummer. 😦

Leave a Reply

