“Bye-bye, Borders” Book Blowout Extravaganza, part 1

It’s here.  The first (and possibly best?  Well, I don’t know) installment of my book giveaways.  There will be six books given away in part 1.  All of these books are books I own, although I haven’t yet read some of them.  In the future I might feature a specific book per giveaway, but I really couldn’t choose one from this bunch.  So here they are, all six books:

1. Invincible Summer – Hannah Moskowitz 

Cover copy says: Across four sun-kissed drama-drenched summers at his family’s beach house, Chase tries to come to grips with his family’s slow dissolution while also finding himself in a chaotic love triangle, pitted against his own brother in pursuit of the girl next door. Invincible Summer is a gritty, sexy, page-turning read from a talented teenaged author that readers won’t want to miss.

Other notes:  I haven’t read this particular one of Hannah’s novels, but you know I love her stuff.  It doesn’t really come out until Tuesday, so I’m just adding it as a bonus novel.

2. The Unidentified – Rae Mariz

Cover copy says: Fifteen-year-old Katey (aka Kid) goes to school in the Game – a mall converted into a “school” run by corporate sponsors. As students play their way through the levels, they are also creating products and being used for market research by the Game’s sponsors, who are watching them 24/7 on video cameras.

Kid has a vague sense of unease but doesn’t question this existence until one day she witnesses a shocking anti-corporate prank. She follows the clues to uncover the identity of the people behind it and discovers an anonymous group who call themselves the Unidentified. Intrigued by their counterculture ideas and enigmatic leader, Kid is drawn in. But when the Unidentified’s pranks and even Kid’s own identity are co-opted by the corporate sponsors, Kid decided to do something bigger–something that could change the Game forever.

Other notes: I loved this book.  That is all.

3. Liar – Justine Larbalestier

Cover copy says: Micah will freely admit she’s a compulsive liar, but that may be the one honest thing she’ll ever tell you. Over the years she’s fooled everyone: her classmates, her teachers, even her parents. And she’s always managed to stay one step ahead of her lies. That is, until her boyfriend dies under brutal circumstances and her dishonesty begins to catch up with her. But is it possible to tell the truth when lying comes as easily as breathing?

Taking listeners deep into the psyche of a young woman who will say just about anything to convince them–and herself–that she’s finally come clean, Liar is a bone-chilling thriller that will have listeners seesawing between truths and lies right up to the end. Honestly.

Other notes:  Liar really had me thinking about it weeks after I read it.  I was surprised by the nature of some of the twists, but I really love the way her lies leave everything ambiguous.

4. Marcelo in the Real World – Francisco X. Stork

Cover copy says: Marcelo Sandoval hears music no one else can hear–part of the autism-like impairment no doctor has been able to identify–and he’s always attended a special school where his differences have been protected. But the summer after his junior year, his father demands that Marcelo work in his law firm’s mailroom in order to experience “the real world.” There Marcelo meets Jasmine, his beautiful and surprising coworker, and Wendell, the son of another partner in the firm. He learns about competition and jealousy, anger and desire. But it’s a picture he finds in a file–a picture of a girl with half a face–that truly connects him with the real world: its suffering, its injustice, and what he can do to fight.

Other notes: This was a pretty cool book with an interesting POV.

5. Grace – Elizabeth Scott

Cover copy says:  Grace was raised to be an Angel, a herald of death by suicide bomb. But she refuses to die for the cause, and now Grace is on the run, daring to dream of freedom.

In search of a border she may never reach, she travels among malevolent soldiers on a decrepit train crawling through the desert. Accompanied by the mysterious Kerr, Grace struggles to be invisible, but the fear of discovery looms large as she recalls the history and events that delivered her uncertain fate.

Other notes: I haven’t read this one, and don’t know much about about it, but everyone talks about how powerful Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott is.

6. Hummingbirds by Joshua Gaylord

Cover copy says: Hummingbirds is a wonderfully compelling novel about the intertwining and darkly surprising relationships at the elite Carmine-Casey School for Girls in Manhattan’s Upper East Side, where the rivalries and secrets of teachers and students intersect and eventually collide.

In the world of students, popular Dixie Doyle battles to wrest attention away from Liz Warren, who spends her time writing and directing plays based on Oresteia. In the world of teachers, Leo Binhammer must now share his territory with Ted Hughes, the new English teacher who threatens Binhammer’s status as sole owner of the girls’ hearts. Seasons change and tensions mount as the students, longing for entry into the adult world, toy with their premature powers of flirtation. The deceptive innocence of adolescence becomes a trap into which flailing teachers fall, as the line between maturity and youth begin to blur.

Other notes: I haven’t read this one either.  It sounded interesting so I got a copy for me too.

Super shiny books, yeah?  And half of them are hardback.  And here’s the best part.  You can have them for a song.

Here’s what you have to do to enter:

– Leave a comment that includes some way to contact you (like an e-mail address or your twitter name).

– As you know, I love music.  I love making playlists for my novels and finding new music that I love.  I’m pretty eclectic, though there are some genres I just don’t usually get.  And my new secret project that I’m working on when I can’t concentrate on Fireflies includes music that tells stories.  Plus, one way I fall in love with a song is if I can connect it to some story, even if the story wasn’t the artist’s original intent.  So leave the title, artist, and genre (just so I’m not surprised) of a song, and give me a description of the story that song tells to you.  Can be as simple or as complicated as you like.

A couple of examples:

Fireflies – Owl City – Electronica/pop – To me this told the story of a whimsical insomniac who was obsessed with fireflies and sort of lived in her (in the case of Fiona) own fantasy world at times

Trouble is a Friend – Lenka – Pop – A good girl is best friends with the spirit of trouble and is realizing that she’s falling for him.

Both those songs led to books, obviously.

– You can get an extra entry if you tweet about the contest, so leave your twitter info in that case.

One winner will be chosen at random for each giveaway, which will each have the same entry requirements (but please choose different songs if you enter future giveaways).   Contest ends on Saturday, April 23 at 11:59 p.m. I’ll announce the winner on Sunday, along with the next giveaway 🙂

Hope to see you in the comments.

Currently on iPod: Inner Glow by Blue October

Lots of love,

Sage

20 thoughts on ““Bye-bye, Borders” Book Blowout Extravaganza, part 1

  1. Yay! I’m totally entering this contest! 🙂

    email: bscottmcc(at)gmail(dot)com

    Okay, so here’s my song:

    E.T. – Katy Perry – Pop: Someone meets another person that he/she doesn’t approve of at first, but eventually starts to fall for, despite his/her earlier misgivings/attitudes about that person.

    I also tweeted about the contest here @bronwaaannn

  2. I think I should win – I gave you fireflies! 🙂 This sounds very close to the extra credit project I just gave my students, by the way. Great minds!!!

  3. You had me at Invincible Summer… 🙂

    Song: Near to You by A Fine Frenzy (I think Pop? oy I don’t know)

    This one definitely inspired my current WIP – A girl is getting out of a bad relationship and struggling to get over it so she doesn’t miss out on a good one.

    I tweeted too at @heatherdough

    Great contest Sage!

  4. Hmm, the one that came to mind is the Cowboy Junkies song called Witches.

    It’s about a woman that hears “witches in the hills, calling my name” and she longs to join them, but feels torn by her fears and the things she would leave behind.

    “So I turn to my lover and ask ,’what do I do?’
    Do I answer their call or stay here with you?

    But under a spell of deep sleep he moans and turns away
    Taking his protection, and my desire to stay”

    Love the song, and it would be a great sound track for Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman.

    @angelicarjaxon

    • Forgot to say I tweeted.

      And I may as well do another song while I’m here! It’s not a song for a specific book, it’s more a song that captures the writing process for me. The part where I get so wrapped up in my book and my characters that it actually takes an effort to come out of my created world and interact with the real one again.

      It’s Dry Grass and Shadows by Alela Diane, and I love the opening lines:

      There are things that I’ve seen in my head while I’m sleeping in bed
      They do not wither with the morning light
      I’m taken back, oh I’m taken back to the dry grass and the shadows.

  5. Great Giveaway!

    Ok, my song’s a little different, because it’s purely instrumental, but I saw Mairead Nesbitt (an Irish fiddler) performing with Celtic Woman and the idea for my current WIP just came to me, haha. My MC is now a very spirited fiddler (you have to see Mairead dance while she plays! O.O) and her playing has a certain magical effect on other characters…

    I like this song of hers in particular: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aIxUXjJL4mk&feature=related

    🙂

    hayleythescribbler(at)gmail(dot)com

      • Goody because I just adore the love the cover of Marcello in the Real World. I’ll give you two songs because I couldn’t make my mind up between old fave/new fave!

        Pack Up by Eliza Doolittle – A girl who’s been through a dark time, packs up her life in a bag and leaves home. The image the song gives me is her stepping off a train into bright sunshine, really to start afresh.

        Never Forget You by the Noisettes – This makes me imagine a couple who are complete opposites but who fall in love anyway, however the relationship can’t be sustained. The image from the song is the couple sat in the bar agreeing that it’s best to break up even though they still love each other.

        My twitter is @gemma_cooper and I’ve tweeted about the contest

  6. Hey Sage 😀 You know I’m always up for winning books.

    http://bit.ly/fvtxXC <— my tweet about the contest @ericakhenry

    My song is "All Myself To You" by Yiruma. It is a piano version but I love it. It is New Age. To me it has so many mixed emotions that it can be used in different scenes. I have quite a few Yiruma songs on my writing mix because they are very emotional

    erica_henry(at)rocketmail(dot)com

  7. Hey Sage! Fabulous contest. This one is hard cuz I really don’t listen to music all that much and when I do it tends to be older stuff. But my kids have been singing this lately because they got a cat (though the song has nothing to do with cats). It’s the Cats in the Cradle by Harry Chapin, which you probably heard a long long time ago.

    It’s a really sad song about how a dad watches his son grow up and never has time to do stuff with him, but the son always wants to be like his dad. And then, the son becomes an adult and the dad wants to spend time with him, but now the son doesn’t have time for the dad.

    this part always chokes me up:

    And as I hung up the phone, it occurred to me,
    He’d grown up just like me.
    My boy was just like me.

    Anyway, that’s my attempt. I’ll try to think of a better one for you next contest. 🙂

    angie adktd2bks@yahoo.com

  8. Ooh great contest! All six of these books sound AWESOME!

    A song:

    Something ‘Bout Love by David Archuleta (pop) – a person is broken-hearted over a failed relationship but doesn’t let themselves give up on love.

  9. Oh, I love music, and so many songs have given me scenes or even story ideas….

    In fact, the latest WIP I just finished was inspired oddly enough by Beer For My Horses by Toby Keith….it literally bred the entire story.

    But when it comes down to writing, I usually listen to more classical or movie soundtracks like Meet Joe Black…Cold Lamb Sandwich….or Romeo and Juliet from New Moon.

  10. Pingback: Crash (but no burn, yay) « Like Fireflies in the Brain

  11. So, a song from one of my WIPs is Crow and the Butterfly by Shinedown which is alternative (?)

    These lyrics spoke to me for a WIP at around 10K and also I got my name for another WIP around 12K. I love dandelions!

    “Just like a crow chasing the butterfly
    Dandelions lost in the summer skies
    When you and I were getting high as outer space
    I never thought you’d slip away
    I guess I was just a little too late”

    I am tweeting: JennSWood…I think you follow me.

    woodfamilyof5(at)yahoo(dot)com

    I really want Invincible Summer. Thanks for the contest!!!

Leave a Reply

