Anatomy of a Soundtrack – Coin-Operated Boy

This is the Taylor-Made theme song, and the first song on the playlist, but it wasn’t the first song to be added to the playlist.  That song, “Tailor Made” by Colbie Caillat was the inspiration for the novel.  But this came right as soon as I had a plot for the novel and not just a glittery hint of idea floating around in the ether.

So no story about the process as I tried to decide the perfect song for this role.  “Coin-Operated Boy” by The Dresden Dolls was the clear choice.  I first heard this song on the alternative station several years ago, but I didn’t really fall in love with it until I saw a fan music video using the song and scenes from the series Buffy the Vampire Slayer (my first love in television, you should know).  In the video, Riley is the coin-operated boy, Angel is the boy Buffy’s turned to the COB after, and Spike is the boy in the bridge that she swears she will never go to.  The music video worked so well that I bought the full song so I could remember it every time it played.

But here I am writing a novel about androids (BOIS) that are created to act the part of the perfect boyfriend for each girl.  The entire novel focuses around these BOIS, first while Taylor and Rosie fight for the BOIS’ right to freewill, then when Taylor discovers that he’s one of them, created for Rosie (Although his POV doesn’t know this for a long time, it should be pretty clear to any reader from chapter 1, so I’m not spoiling anything, I promise).

Anyway, here’s the song (no lyrics, because I couldn’t find a good one with lyrics, sorry)

Perfect song for TM, right?

Lots of love,
Sage

One thought on “Anatomy of a Soundtrack – Coin-Operated Boy

Leave a Reply

