Leeloo Dallas Multitask, part 2

Ever feel like you just want to do everything at once?

I’m working on an R&R, so every free moment feels like it should be doing that.  But I’m pretty excited about my NaNo project, and I’d rather be spending time working on that (plotting, playing, making a soundtrack).  Of course, I should also be blogging.  And probably should put some work into promotion for Love Sucks.  Oh, and then I should take advantage of it being October and should watch some scary movies.  Or read some scary books.

Speaking of books, I only have 6 of them that I’m currently reading.  The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (that’s a mouthful) by Catherynne M. Valente is a book that I picked up ages ago and started, but even though I had been in the mood for a book just like it a month before I got it, I wasn’t in the mood when I started it.  I’m slowly reading it.  Small Favor by Jim Butcher is my current audiobook.  The Gypsies by Jan Yoors is a book I’m reading for research for a book I’m going to write next year probably.  I started Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff before October started but put it aside to read Halloween books.  The Diviners by Libba Bray is a book I downloaded the first 11 chapters of for free, and now that I’m over halfway through those, I’m thinking it’s a good Halloween read, but I’m actively reading The Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake, which is definitely a Halloween read.  It’s also a library book, so it has a bigger deadline than the rest.  But, really, I’m just like, “Read ALL the books!”  I want to read for research before NaNo.  I want to read scary books for Halloween.  And there’s just not enough October left to read everything I want.

Then there’s my time when I could be listening to my MP3 player.  Do I want to listen to Halloween music?  Do I want to audition songs for my NaNo novel’s soundtrack?  Do I want to listen to songs I’ve already put on that soundtrack?  Or do I want to get through my audiobook so I can listen to the next one on my list?  This dilemma is made more annoying by the fact that instead of spending 8 hours in the lab listening to my iPhone, I have to make phone calls during work, which is not music/audiobook-friendly.

And of course, all this ignores those things you have to do, like working or cooking or cleaning or going to the doctor or whatever it is.

So, what about you?  Ever feel like you have to do ALL the things?

Lots of love,

Sage

Leave a Reply

